Call 314-400-0000
Click here for a free case evaluation.

Car Insurance Claims

Our car insurance claim lawyers handle all types of injury claims against insurance companies, including:

  • Uninsured (UM) Motorist Claims;
  • Underinsured (UIM) Motorist Claims;
  • Vexatious Refusal Cases;
  • Medical Payment Claims;
  • Accidental Death and Dismemberment Claims;
  • Liability Claims;
  • Excess Insurance / Umbrella policy claims;
  • Bad Faith Failure to Defend;
  • Bad Faith Failure to Settle; and
  • PIP claims for Out-of-State Insurance claims.

In all the above types of claims, Missouri requires all insurers to act in good faith and fairly adjust claims for their insureds. When insurance companies fail to do this, our insurance claim lawyers will hold insurers responsible to pay the coverage that was promised.

When Should I Call A Lawyer?

You should call a car insurance lawyer as soon as reasonably possible after a crash for a number of reasons. First, your own car insurance company requires all incidents to be reported to them. If you fail to timely do this, you could be denied coverage. Second, you have a duty to cooperate with your own insurer’s investigation of the crash, which could include recorded statements about how the incident occurred. A car insurance lawyer will ensure you meet both of these requirements while at the same time protecting your legal interests. A potential pitfall during any car insurance claim is that your own insurer could turn against you. During the investigation phase, your relationship with your own insurer may turn adverse and any information they obtain from you could be used against you to deny a claim. Remember: Insurance companies record all telephone calls.

What is the Statute of Limitations for Car Insurance Claims?

All first party claims (UM, UIM, Medical Payment, etc.) are based upon contract. In Missouri, breach of contract claims must be brought within 10 years from the date of the incident.

To the extent an insurance claim is premised on a third party claim for tort, the statute of limitations is 5 years from the date of the incident.

Recognizing the difference between a first party claim and a third party claim is not always crystal clear. Also, despite the fact the statute of limitations is 10 years for first party claims, if you destroy a first party insurer’s subrogation rights by failing to file a third party claim within 5 years, you may be barred from bringing¬† that claim.

The purpose of the above is reiterate that car insurance claims are extremely complex and require a clear and well defined strategy to maximize your recovery.

Free No-Obligations Car Insurance Consultations

If you have an insurance company claim and are not being treated fairly, contact us for a free, no obligation legal consultation. Our reputation for holding insurer’s “feet to the fire” is well known (and well documented in verdicts) throughout the insurance industry. Insurance companies keep statistics on law firms – they know who wins and who doesn’t.

We have a reputation for winning, including jury verdicts for many times the insurer’s best offer prior to trial and mid-trial settlements for many times the policy limits. Beyond this, we routinely win against car insurance companies in the Missouri Court of Appeals and are responsible for making precedent setting law in this state.