The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration oversees tractor trailers and other large shipping vehicles all over the county. You can find a listing of every federal motor carrier law on their website.
Each individual state, however, can legislate their own specific rules that can tweak the laws set by the FMCSA. Here in Missouri, there are a few notable exceptions to the federal laws.
The first has to do with the Hours of Service laws that govern how long a driver can be behind the wheel. These laws are designed to make sure drivers are not driving on short rest when they are more prone to causing a truck accident that could result in serious personal injury or death.
Missouri has adopted many of the Hours of Service laws, but they make an exception for farmers and agricultural supply transporters during the harvesting seasons. If you are traveling within a 100 mile radius within the state lines during this period there is no maximum number of on-duty hours.
Missouri also says that a driver must be at least 18 years of age to get a trucking license (CDL or Class E) but this requirement is raised to 21 years of age if the driver is moving hazardous chemicals or other dangerous material. This varies from the federal law and several other states’ laws.
With all the subtle changes in laws from state to state, it’s important to find someone who is well versed in Missouri’s specific laws. If you are injured in an accident with a tractor trailer, be sure to find an experienced Missouri truck accident attorney who can navigate the states unique laws